Philippine Sports Central Rotating Header Image

Barangay Ginebra Kings

The Barangay Ginebra Kings is a professional basketball team of the Philippine Basketball Association founded in 1979 and owned by the Ginebra San Miguel, Inc., a subsidiary of the San Miguel Corporation. It is one of the most popular teams in the league and the entire Philippines for that matter.

After some rough times during their first few seasons, their fortunes changed when Robert Jaworski and Francis Arnaiz arrived in 1984, following the disbandment of the famed Toyota squad.

Jaworski, as a playing head coach, then steered the franchise to four PBA titles (1986, 1988, 1991, and 1997) with the tough and physical squad of the likes of Dondon Ampalayo, Rudy Distrito, and for some times imports like Michael Hackett and Billy Ray Bates. He left the team in 1998 with the squad of Marlou Aquino, Bal David, Vince Hizon, to name a few.

Siot Tanquingcen and current head coach Jong Uichico then led the Kings to four more titles as head coaches of the squad led by Mark Caguioa, Jayjay Helterbrand and Eric Menk among others.


  1. Celino Cruz
  2. Denham Brown
  3. JC Intal
  4. Willie Miller
  5. Jayjay Helterbrand
  6. Yancy De Ocampo
  7. Mike Cortez
  8. Enrico Villanueva
  9. Willy Wilson
  10. Eric Menk
  11. Mark Caguioa
  12. John Ferriols
  13. Ronald Tubid
  14. Sunday Salvacion
  15. Rudy Hatfield
  16. Junjun Cabatu (IN)
  17. Kevin White (IN)
  18. Paolo Bugia (IN)
  19. Junthy Valenzuela (IN)

Other Information

  • Joined : 1979
  • Team colors : Red, Black, White, and Yellow
  • Owner : Eduardo Cojuangco, Jr.
  • Company : Ginebra San Miguel, Inc.
  • Head coach : Jong Uichico
Related Posts with Thumbnails

Incoming search terms:

  • yhs-004
  • ginebra san miguel
  • ginebra kings news
  • mike hackett ginebra san miguel photos
  • brgy ginebra news
  • ginebra news updates
  • philippines sport new for ginebra san miguel team
  • san miguel corporation on brgy ginebra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>